2008: Maybe Some People Like Lists, I Don’t Know

There’s a lot of stuff I liked this last year, some of which I’ve already posted about, others I enjoy but don’t have enough to justify an entire entry. That and I should really start wrapping up my 2008 review thing. But, I don’t know if some people like lists or not, so here goes.

Music

The way I do my “best albums” thing is kind of strange, but I think it works better. A lot of albums really can’t be compared to each other, so I think doing a top 10 or 20 list is kind of fucked. Instead I usually narrow down a top 3 and then just add a list of things I liked. This year is no different. So, here’s my top 3 albums of the year:

1. Okkervil River – The Stand Ins

2. Mason Proper – Olly Oxen Free

3. The Tallest Man on Earth – Shallow Graves

And the rest:

Death Cab for Cutie – Narrow Stairs

The Gaslight Anthem – The ’59 Sound (though I’ve been into this one so fucking much lately it might get an entry later)

Nada Surf – Lucky

Margot & the Nuclear So and So’s – Animal!/Not Animal

Bon Iver – For Emma, Forever Ago

Phantom Planet – Raise the Dead

Murder by Death – Red of Tooth and Claw

Does It Offend You, Yeah? – You Have No Idea What You’re Getting Yourself Into

Fleet Foxes – Sun Giant

TV on the Radio – Dear Science

Manchester Orchestra – Let My Pride Be What’s Left Behind

Able Baker Fox – Voices

Between the Buried and Me – Colors Live

Fucked Up – The Chemistry of Common Life

Frances – All the While

United Nations – United Nations

All of those warrant a proper listen. Maybe I’ll revisit them later in the year.

Movies

This really isn’t my area of expertise. As you probably know I loved the shit out of Cloverfield. Wall-E too. Slumdog Millionaire was really good but shit was so heavy I don’t think I’ll ever want to see it again for the rest of my life. I’d add The Dark Knight, but your favorite movies list already did it for me. Zing!

TV

Dexter and Sunny, duh. I got really into 30 Rock this year but I didn’t actually watch much of this particular season so I can’t really judge. The Office is kind of going down the shitter; I still love it, but Steve Carrel is getting so annoying that he’s bringing the rest of the cast down. I had a night class so I’ve missed like all of House, which is super depressing. Whatever, I can hold out for DVDs or just watch it online.

Shows

Fuck, you really want me to pick? At the end of this post I’m going to include every show I went to this year. And it was a fucking lot. If you were at any let me know. We’ll reminisce.

The Mars Volta – Toad’s Place, CT

Bayside/Straylight Run/Four Year Strong – Webster Theater, CT

Manchester Orchestra/Quiet Life/Deer Tick – Living Room, RI

Kevin D – The Space, CT

Jack’s Mannequin/T-Pain/Zox – Quinnipiac, CT

Home Movies/Yesplease – Toad’s Place, CT

Automatic Loveletter/The White Tie Affair/NOT Foreverinmotion – Webster Theater, CT

Say Anything/Manchester Orchestra/Weatherbox – Toad’s Place, CT

Minus The Bear/Kevin Devine/Paulson/Great Caesar – Quinnipiac, CT

Great Caesar/Parker House and Theory/Ben Karis-Nix – Quinnipiac, CT

Murder By Death/O’Death/Kiss Kiss – Webster Theater, CT

Cursive/Appleseed Cast – Heirloom Arts Theater, CT

Dead Meadow/They and the Children – Heirloom Arts Theater, CT

Pissed Jeans/Daniel Striped Tiger/Sea Legs – People’s Center, CT

Kaddisfly/Farewell Flight/The Hollow Sound/Kevin D – The Space, CT

The Fall of Troy/Foxy Shazam – Toad’s Place, CT

Thrice/Circa Survive/Pelican – Webster Theater, CT

Death Cab for Cutie/Amanda Palmer – Meehan Auditorium, RI

Black Lips/Titus Andronicus – Market Hotel, NYC

Alkaline Trio/Bayside/The Fashion – Toad’s Place, CT

Jay Reatard/Tiny Masters of Today/Kidz in the Hall/Oakley Hall – New London, CT

Dinosaur Jr./OM – Toad’s Place, CT

John Weise/Sickness/Heaven People – People’s Center, CT

Pinback/sBACH – Toad’s Place, CT

Death Cab for Cutie/St. Vincent – Oakdale, CT

Okkervil River/Crooked Fingers/Black Joe Lewis & the Honeybears – Webster Hall, NYC

GWAR – Toad’s Place, CT

Coheed and Cambria – Terminal 5, NYC

Margot & the Nuclear So and So’s – Bowery Ballroom, NYC

Saves the Day/Kevin Devine & the Goddamn Band – Highline Ballroom, NYC

Minus the Bear/Annuals – Webster Hall, NYC

Nightmare of You/Great Caesar & the GoGetters/The Hollow Sound/Stalemate – The Space, CT

Kiss Kiss/Home Movies – The Space, CT

Cloud Cult/Mason Proper/Exit Clov – Heirloom Arts Theater, CT

Bayside/The Matches/Valencia/Glenlivae – Webster Theater, CT

Amanda Palmer and the Danger Ensemble – Toad’s Place, CT

Tom Gabel (of Against Me!)/Emilyn Brodsky – The Space, CT

Jesse Lacey/Kevin Devine/Brian Bonz – Music Hall of Williamsburg, NYC

Nada Surf/The Delta Spirit/Bear Hands – Webster Hall, NYC

Will Sheff (of Okkervil River)/Charles Bissel (of the Wrens)/Bird of Youth – Music Hall of Williamsburg, NYC

Ted Leo – The Space, CT
2 responses to “2008: Maybe Some People Like Lists, I Don’t Know

  1. hello my name is mike ferrell
    aside from wishing i was matt demello by doing the exact same thing he does, i am a musical elitest with no right. i have no real idea of the bands that started off the genres i claim to no so much about. ive never been cut by the old floor at cbgbs(never been there wen it wasnt john varvatos) never spent the day squating in macri park. i kno kevin devine and brand new and taking back sunday, but not miracle of 86 rookie lot or antonio longo i cud go on but i choose not to

  2. Every show I went to last year you were also at… curious.

Leave a Reply

