Things to Do on 1/8/09 – Bear Hands & Kiss Kiss at the Space

bear hands

I first saw Bear Hands at last year’s spectacular Not Brooklyn Fest that was put on by Manic Productions. They were opening for Cursive, who I was primarily there to see, but I was impressed by their set nonetheless. It was fun, danceable, and catchy as all hell; if my friend Jess hadn’t bought their EP I don’t know how else they would have gotten out of my head.

Ever since I’ve been telling Manic Mark to book them in Connecticut again (I’m not counting that time I saw them open for Nada Surf). He did, but of course, I won’t be able to attend. So, fair reader, it’s up to you to rectify this inequity and go in my stead.

The show is on January 8th at The Space in Hamden, one of my favorite venues around. Opening the show is the equally awesome Kiss Kiss, who play an incredibly eccentric brand of chamber pop with a violinist. They also have a fucking blast on stage, I’ve seen them twice and I can’t say I’ve seen that many bands that look like they’re having nearly as much fun.

Doors at 7PM. $10. Support the Space, they need it.

Leave a Reply

