Hate Mail: Volume 1

elitist-snob

“hello my name is mike ferrell
aside from wishing i was matt demello by doing the exact same thing he does, i am a musical elitest with no right. i have no real idea of the bands that started off the genres i claim to no so much about. ive never been cut by the old floor at cbgbs(never been there wen it wasnt john varvatos) never spent the day squating in macri park. i kno kevin devine and brand new and taking back sunday, but not miracle of 86 rookie lot or antonio longo i cud go on but i choose not to” (sic)

So, earlier this morning I was fortunate enough to receive my first piece of hate mail. “But Mike,” you may say. “This is the internet. Of course people are going to leave you awful comments and you should really just learn to accept it.” Why yes, that may be true, but some of the things said in this comment struck me at a fairly personal level. I know exactly who this person is due to the wonders of IP logging as well as the fact that he used his own fucking e-mail address, but rather than stoop to his level and call that person out for being a colossal pussy, I’m just going to analyze what he wrote.

“hello my name is mike ferrell”

Lovely start. Spelled my last name wrong. For fuck’s sake, it’s in the URL.

“aside from wishing i was matt demello by doing the exact same thing he does, i am a musical elitest with no right.”

Okay, getting personal. Matt Demello is a good friend of mine, he’s a senior at Quinnipiac University and one of the most unabashedly opinionated human beings one could ever hope to meet. Some would pin this as a fault, but I think it’s great the kid knows what he likes and is able to stick to his guns even under intense scrutiny. But, no, I don’t do exactly what Matt Demello does. I don’t dress like him, I don’t talk like him, our bands sound nothing alike.

Being called an elitist is something that does legitimately bother me. By definition, an elitist is one who views himself as above others and, as such, thinks he can talk down them because he views their opinions as lesser than his own. This notion is totally fucked, and after a horrible high school experience with a guy who judged people solely on musical taste I swore I would never act that way. Having a blog is just an outlet for me to share my opinions. I don’t care if you agree or not, and I encourage open dialogues. Of course, if this kid had ever said two fucking words to me in my ENTIRE life he’d understand that.

” i have no real idea of the bands that started off the genres i claim to no so much about.”

Again, if this kid knows me enough to think I’m an elitist he clearly knows this is true as well. This kid sounds more like a snob than I do.

“ive never been cut by the old floor at cbgbs(never been there wen it wasnt john varvatos) never spent the day squating in macri park.”

I’ve spent the last ten years of my life in Connecticut. I didn’t start going to shows in New York until my senior year of high school, which was 2007, two years after the close of CBGB. Both of these statements are the equivalent of saying “if you didn’t grow up in New York, you can in no way appreciate music.” To which I heartily say get fucked.

“i kno kevin devine and brand new and taking back sunday, but not miracle of 86 rookie lot or antonio longo i cud go on but i choose not to”

I’m not dignifying this with a response. All I’ll say is I’ve got records by all three of those bands I supposedly don’t know.

So please, go on. Insult someone who’s never said more than two words to you some more. I’m ready when you are!

4 responses to “Hate Mail: Volume 1

  1. Besides being a douche, that kid took a meaty shit all over the english language and thus everything he said can be completely disregarded. I guess hatemail means you’ve made it in the blogging world though haha. The closest thing I’ve gotten yet was a gay man berating me for insinuating that all gays like American Idol.
    Keep me updated on Manchester tix.
    -Bill

  2. benjamin button eyes

    listen im sorry that everytime ive encountered you that you have come off as an elitist douchebag, along with everything on your blog. i mean and if you want we can meet up next time im at qu so i can say this to your face. hope i didnt ruin your day again.

    ps the conneticut music scene is terrible

  3. Jesus Christ, if you had a pair you would have said this to my face in the first place. If you ever come back to QU you’re too spineless to ever call me out, and you’re not worth my time.

    You love New York so fucking much, stay there.

  4. Love your style ! I too am unabashedly opinionated and love other people being so regardless of the opinion ! Great writing ! To thine self be true comes to mind đŸ™‚
    Catherine – Melbourne – Aust.

Leave a Reply

